Purchasing theme licenses for my clients

I am new to Envato and ThemeForest. I have purchased theme licenses for myself, but now I need to purchase a them license on behalf of a client who knows nothing about navigating the digital world. Do I simply purchase the theme and hold it under my licensing or is their a way to transfer ownership to them at some point in time. Does it even matter who owns the license? I really want to nail down the intellectual ownership because I have to get started on my client website, today really.

What you’re planning is completely fine. Sometimes it’s good to have the client purchase the license so that they can have access to updates and support once you finish the site, but that’s up to you.

Do I understand this right? - That the only way for a client to get access to updates for the theme they paid me for is to purchase the theme again?

I’ve been using ThemeForest for years, and had no idea this was the case. If this is true, this is reason for me to not use TF any more. Please tell me there’s another way.

The FAQ page says something about linking the client to the license. What does that mean, and how is it done?

Yes this is the case.

I would imagine it’s to help avoid/minimise exploiting the licenses.

Have you been using TF for years for client work?

The best option has always been for clients to buy the item and since the introduction of guest checkout etc. there really isn’t any reason to not do it this way.

Out of curiosity (not aimed at anyone specifically) can anyone share an example of a marketplace that allows multiple people access to purchase downloads from anything other than the buyer account?

Just clarifying… I’m not expecting for both of us to have access to downloads on the same license. I want to transfer ownership. And the FAQ page implies that’s possible, but is murky (to me, anyway), on the details of how exactly to do that.

I sure would love to hear from someone at TF about this.