Discussion about usage of elements motion graphics videos on youtube

Hi, I’m a motion graphics author, and I’ve been uploading mostly looping motion graphics videos lately.
I would like to discuss, an issue that will significantly affect the sales of motion graphics authors in the future.
I have contacted author support regarding this problem, but only receive macro replies to how to send DMCA notices.
So I decided to have this discussion on the forum.

Is this a fair use? or is it a redistribution of videos?

As everyone knows, YouTube is a global platform and its influence is enormous.
Recently, I found many channels on YouTube that uploaded elements videos.
The problem was that channels upload videos in its entirety without any editing.
Most of those channels were content sharing the background of music or meditation.

They just edited the looping videos to make them long.
(There are many cases of simple color change and reverse playback)
subscribers can download videos uploaded from YouTube channels, and they will not purchase our items.

I think these activities are some kind of redistribution of elements videos.
However, there is no clear guideline on this, which is confusing me and our customers.

When I contact them for copyright infringement, they claim that there is no problem because they purchased the item from elements.
I waste too much time persuading to make them to understand.

Anyway as a result, They just buy our items for a cent and upload to their YouTube channel.
I can be sure, this will negatively impact authors’ sales.

I’m sorry if there’s something I misunderstood.
Please share your thoughts about this issue.

And… I have two questions here.
● When a customer write their Youtube channel URL when purchasing a license, does Envato check the contents of the channel and review whether it is legit or not?
● Does Envato provide clear guides to customers on how to use “elements video items” on YouTube?

1 Like

Hello,