Update Plugins - Becoming A Total Nightmare!

Unlike some of you who do this for a living, I am just a simple business owner who is also an IT professional. There was a time when updates for plugins only happened about once every couple months. Lately, updates are flying in almost every other day.

This isn’t so bad if you’re working with updates that “auto-update” through the main update screen in WordPress. But, if these are add-ons that came with a “theme” it becomes a serious chore to constantly go to your email, follow the link to the updated “theme”, backup your work and then uninstall and reinstall the theme. It’s ridiculous!

I respect the fact that people who create plugins and themes deserve to get paid for their work. I also agree that some form of security should be in place so that people who try and steal their IP without paying is minimized. But, the current way of auto-updating those themes is ridiculous!!

When I look through the forums here, and when I’m viewing the intuitive minds working on WordPress, ThemeForest, Plugins, etc, I see some “BRILLIANT MINDS”! Somebody out there has an answer for this hodge-podge, disjointed system of updating things…

can we start a movement? A voice? something, to get those who make plugins, and those who help develop WordPress to put this on top of their “To Do” list??

I’m not just raising this because I’m frustrated with today’s updates, I’m raising it because I’m starting to see the gap in this problem growing wider, not narrowing and becoming smooth and seamless.

I appreciate any thoughts and ideas on others who may see this same thing becoming a real problem… Thanks!

1 Like

https://github.com/envato/wp-envato-market - download, zip up and then install as a plugin.

it’s in beta but will allow you to update your Codecanyon / Themeforest products from your admin area, just add an api key (https://build.envato.com/)

2 Likes