The journey of becoming a musician... share your story!

Share your story about your journey of becoming a musician! Did you take music lessons, study at a professional establishment or you reached the heights simply by watching YouTube videos? :slight_smile: When did you first realize the attraction towards music?

I started traditional piano lessons aged about 8 and by the age of 12, got to about Grade 5 while also playing higher level pieces like Daquin’s “Le Coucou” (about Grade 7). After a teen rebellion and a few years rest from lessons, I started playing the piano again at College and continued to play more challenging pieces (e.g.Beethoven’s “Pathetique Sonata”, Liszt’s “Liebestraume”) while also trying my hand (literally) at playing sections from famous Piano Concertos…Grieg, Tchaikovsky, Gershwin etc. I eventually gained a Grade 8 distinction in piano and Grade 5 theory and continued to push myself further with my music studies.

After College and gaining an Art degree, in an effort to improve my sight reading, I practiced about 4 hours a day, almost every day, for about 18 months, soaking up as many different styles of music as I could. I would rent books from the library and sight read them from cover to cover in an afternoon. Eventually I went on to teach piano, have done accompanying for Woodwind exams and local amateur dramatics, have been in Music festivals and been the Musical Director of a couple of pantomine shows as well as singing in various amateur choirs and Musical Societies. 22 years later and I am still teaching piano for a living but in recent years have become more interested in composing (which I’ve always dabbled in from time to time). That brings me right up to date here, at AudioJungle, where I am enjoying some moderate success with my own music for the first time ever.

Thank you AudioJungle! :slight_smile:

Thanks for sharing your stories guys!

I might as well share my whole life story, because music is a huge part of it.