Replying to reviews

Hi All,

Before I worked at Envato I was an author for a brief period and one of the things that annoyed me in particular was poor ratings/reviews where I could help the buyer given the opportunity. So during this Hack-Fort I put together a small team to work on improving author - buyer communications.

I know there are a lots of improvements we could make to the ratings system, but this is the area we wanted to focus on during Hack-Fort so we built the functionality to allow authors to reply to reviews. Hack-Fort is over now so we haven’t really got time to make any enhancements but please let me know if you find any bugs.

##How it works:

When an author receives a review from a buyer of their item, they will now have the opportunity to reply to the buyer. Authors can reply from the Review tab on either the Item page or My Account.

Replying to a review will email the buyer. The reply is between the author and the buyer so no other buyers will be able to see it. Authors are only allowed to reply once and the reply is recorded in their account. At no time will the author see the buyer’s email address.

Buyers will then have the opportunity to continue the conversation (should they wish to) off platform by replying to the email. If the author has a support email address it will go to that, if not it will default to the account email address.

Authors will only be able to reply to reviews left after the deployment and none of the replies will be visible to other buyers.

##Some screenshots to illustrate:

Buyer leaves a review and sees a message below informing them that the author can reply to their review

Author receives a review and has an opportunity to reply

Buyer receives the reply and has an opportunity to continue the conversation over email

33 Likes