Reject Ha-ha-ard

Hello friends! Sorry for bad english. My two items was hard rejected. I want to discover reasons. Why? Unfortunately reviewers do not explain the reasons, very sad. Help me to understand. Is this tracks so so bad? Poor mixing, damn bad music idea or extremely low commercial value? Or combination of all those reasons. Here links to my damn “tracks”.

Thank you all!!!

It sounds pretty good to my amateur ears, flawless even. Hope someone else can explain the faults.

1 Like

Help brothers and sisters! Need explanation and advices from you friends!

Hi SayDoo,

I think that while the material on both tracks sounded fine at first, thereafter, there wasn’t enough variety to keep the ear interested.

Before having a bash at writing stock music myself - by the way, I still haven’t had any tracks accepted - I went right back to basics.

Over 20 years ago I did a music degree and learnt virtually nothing of any value about writing music for the real world. The course mainly focused on a lot of way-out, avant-garde stuff that was so awful it would have your cat looking for another home. We had one lecture in three years on western tonal harmony.

Anyway, I know you didn’t ask for a bio, so I’ll get to the point.

About a year ago, I stumbled on a couple of books by a fella called Jonathan Peters, “Music Composition 1” and “Music Composition 2”.

Peters stresses throughout the two books that the most important principle of composition is “unity and variety” - you know, inversion, transposed inversion and that sort of thing - and he gives numerous examples to drive home the point.

Neither of your pieces, while sounding very professionally mixed to my amateur ears - had much in the way of variety, at least not up to the point where my ears wanted something different and I hit the pause button.