Question about Envato fees from sales.

I want to ask about this buyer fee, why did it appear? Why is it needed? Why does Envato also hold this, if they already hold the Author fee?
It turns out that all this together in the amount of almost half the price of the project cost. And this despite the fact that I am an exclusive author. I understand that this appeared a long time ago, but did not find a clear answer, why is this needed?

1 Like

Exclusive authors have always been getting 50% when they start off. The buyer fee and author fee distinction is only there for accounting purposes. If you want to increase the % you earn on each sale, you can raise your price.

2 Likes

Exclusive authors don’t always get 50%. Percentage depends on the price of the item, on the type of item, on whether the TAX form is filled, on the country in which the author lives, and on the country from which the purchase was made

2 Likes

They don’t anymore, you’re right. I was talking historically.

Though the country of the buyer has no incidence on your cut (buyers may have to pay taxes on top, but that does not concern authors).

1 Like

If the purchase came from the United States, you get less than when the purchase came from another country

2 Likes

I am an exclusive author, and I already have long time 12.5% Author Fee.
But for example, the project is cost 18$, I recieve 12$ and minus 1.50 Author Fee So I have 10.5 from 18$ of price. This 6$ is Buyer Fee. Why? Why so much? And in general, why does this fee exist?

1 Like

Buyer Fee

When you make a purchase on Envato Market, you will be paying the Author of the item for their work, and a Buyer Fee to Envato for use of our platform and services. This includes services like 24/7 customer support, fraud protection, and item quality control.

1 Like

Where did you see that? That’s certainly not true in my case.