Envato fee confusion

I just made my first sale, it was just a sound effect so only $1 (turned out as $0.95 though) but I was a bit confused by the envato fee. I’m an exclusive author and I’m to understand that the fee is 37.5% but the fee was $0.30 and then $0.15 for VAT which for some reason all goes to Envato?

Leaving me with $0.50 instead of $0.65…not sure why that isn’t detailed in the Author fee schedule…?

The best thing to do is to get in touch with support at Envato Help & Support Center for a clear answer on this! :slight_smile:

If you’ve got 0.50 from 1$ sale then all is correct. Don’t flood your brain with math and keep working :wink:

1 Like

Haha is that what you tell your servants.

2 Likes

As an exclusive author you get a 50% commission in the beginning. This increases as you reach higher author levels. Check out the help pages for details.
Cheers!

You don’t seem to be that familiar, check this page:

Let me be the third person to tell you that 50% is what you get :slight_smile:
In addition to author fee, a buyers fee is deducted.

2 Likes

Ok it seems this page is more accurate.

https://audiojungle.net/become-an-author

So it seems Audiojungle have the highest fee in the industry. Also not quite sure what a “buyer’s fee” is though. Its ALL really an author’s fee since the 50% all goes to Envato and the author only receives 50% of the list price. The buyer is not charged this “buyer’s fee” since they are charged the entire list price.

A 50/50 split is standard in most RF markets I know. What, as far as I know, is unique to AJ is that you get a bigger cut the more you sell. Eventually you can end up getting a 70% cut.

The list price comprise the item price and the buyer’s fee. For instance, a $19 (list price) track is made up of the item price ($15.20) and the buyer’s fee ($3,80). You then have to pay your author fee on the item price.