New territory! Words of advice?

Hey everyone, I’m new to AudioJungle and just had my first submission/rejection so I already feel like I’m part of the team :smiley:

I’ll keep refining my compositions and mixing to hopefully get to accepted submissions, but in the mean time does anyone have any advice? I love writing and want to take advantage of these libraries if it means I get to practise my songwriting, production, mixing and mastering at the same time :smile:

Thanks!

Was there an explanation for the rejectsion? I have my first submission still in the review queue. Fingers crossed!
Good luck on your next submission.

"This submission does not meet our general commercial production (mixing/mastering/sample quality) standard, unfortunately"

And listening back on the mix I hear unnecessary distortion on the acoustic guitar, vocals and the mix could be nicer, more of a clean pop sound. I’m hoping it’s not my interface or microphone though…how much do you find your recording gear contributes to a clean sound? I just bought a new Taylor which sounds great but I would love to know how it sounds going through an Apollo interface instead of the 2i4 Scarlett one I have…hmmmm…

And of course good luck on your submission!!

1 Like

If you’re getting distortion, you’re probably recording too hot. Gone are the days of trying to record at highest level due to noise in the signal chain, so I’d recommend reducing your record signal quite a bit and then use some gain later on to boost the levels if needed.
I’m using a larger Scarlett interface too and I don’t think you should be having issues there as they’re pretty good.
Don’t know that mic though. I generally find the mic position and eq-ing can make a real difference. I also layer sounds and use exciters (sparingly) sometimes if I find it’s sounding slightly dull and needs some shine. In fact, sometimes I add even some distortion too to hi-hats! :wink: