[HARD REJECTION] Could You please help me, why my track got hard rejected?

Hello Everybody,

Could You please help me, why my track got hard rejected?

Here’s a SoundCloud link:

I’m still learning what AJ wants/accepts,
I really want to improve!

Thank you for your constructive criticism.

Everybody have a nice day!

Hello! First of all - this is a pretty good track. I don’t think this track deserves for rejection. It positive, not boring, a decent number of different instruments, decent arrangement.

Some reasons that could be the reason for rejection:

Long chord chain - yes, it interesting, but it makes me fill a little bit annoying.

Bass - it needs to be more confident, readable, maybe with another notes and rhythm.

Strange dark reverb - it appears with the bells part and in some other places.

Are you use an EQ on a master channel? I hear some lack of the frequencies in the mid\high mid. My advice to you - don’t use an EQ on a master channel.

Good luck, best regards.

1 Like

Thank you very much for your tips!
I will try them out,

I’m not sure if I can change the bell because it is a glockenspiel patch from EWQLSO Silver edition, and unfortunately I don’t have dryer mic positions yet (I have only 1 mic position which is medium-“reverby”), I’ve already tried to reduce the sample release tails inside PLAY player, but it sounded weird, it also shortened the notes themselves,
nowadays I’m planning to get a decent drum library (maybe EZdrummer sale soon? :slight_smile: (no Superior for me yet, I’m not good enough at mixing yet for that)) because I feel sample library-wise I lack drums the most.

I am using ToneBoosters - Reverb 3, which usually sounds fine with dry instruments, although I tend to cut some highs of that too.

I use only a tiny bit of master EQ, like 1 db cut around 400Hz, I felt that helped, but it looks like I should boost highs a bit instead, thanks for this tip too! I will try this change