Creating a Wordpress theme with a page builder plugin

wordpress

Hi, guys. First of all, I am a complete beginner when it comes to building Wordpress themes, and I am sure that my question may seem a bit ridiculous, but I thought here I will get an answer I am looking for, because google search didn’t gave me a straight up answer, or i don’t know to google it right.

Anyway, I wanted to ask about a process of designing a Wordpress theme with a Page builder, like Visual Composer or any other. Do you just make a Wordpress theme with some basic CSS styles and functionality, maybe default footer and header as well, and then you build more complex layouts and styles with the Page Builder plugin from the admin area? And when are done you can just export that layouts/theme options so that buyers can later import it and get the look like from the demo?

Or do you have to code the layouts into the theme and the Page Builder is just used by customers that modify those layouts with it? Because I am not sure how the customers can later modify the coded layouts with the Page Builder, if that is the case.

I hope that the questions were clear enough, like i said, I am quite a begginer at this and I hope you will have the understanding for this probably naive questions.

Best regards.

It rather depends on the purpose

If you just want to edit a theme that uses VC then you can do so more or less using the different compnents and then configure CSS and options via option panels or stylesheets etc.

If you are talking about creating a theme to sell here then that is totally different and a lot more complicated. You would need to create bespoke features in VC to make it stand out, configure theme options and customisation settings amongst a whole load more.

Creating files to sell here is something for WordPress experts or at very least competent amateurs as it is not only about initially building a theme - there are things like updates. Support and bug fixing etc. To consider.