State of the market from an author's point of view

I am mostly writing my thoughts, maybe other authors share the same feelings.

NOTE: I am an author only on CodeCanyon, so my points might not apply to all the other marketplaces.

The Envato Marketplaces were and are a great place to easily get started with selling digital products and the Envato team is doing a great job with growing the community and company, but as a marketplace author I felt neglected for the past 2-3 years.

I will get straight to the point: I think that the advantages that the Envato marketplaces offer have diminished over time, while the commission rates stayed the same and the author experience got worse. I am seriously considering moving to another platform, but I like this community and don’t want to throw away 8 fun years of gathering badges, working for good reviews and commission rates improvements.

My main reasons to think the commissions are too high for what the platform offers:

NOTE: Most of this list is the result of the fact that we are told and see that we do have to market our own items if we want to increase/maintain our sales.

• Analytics: Currently my biggest issue is conversion tracking and optimization. I know I bring buyers to my CodeCanyon product page that have the intention to buy, but they don’t and I have no idea why. There is no easy way (that I know of) to even know if a user I brought myself to Envato buys my own item or not.

• Traffic: The amount of traffic and number of sales generated by the traffic coming from the marketplace itself has decreased over time.

• Commission rates: Currently from a sale of $59 I receive $43, that is ~25% commission rate. Using a payment provider the commissions are around 5%, so I would receive around $56. Linked to the traffic issue above: the difference of $16 could be used to market the product and get way more traffic than the one coming from the marketplace.