Need som help regarding licenses!

Hi there fellas!
I got a mail from a customer with questions about what type of license he would need for his YouTube channel. I answered that a standard license would be fine, but then he had further questions which I was unsure of:
“Hi! Thanks for your answer! I have not buy it yet but i will! Just another question, my youtube channel will have 3 different “shows” inside the channel, could i use the music in all the “shows” intro? Or the license is just for one time video? Im new in this sorry!”

Could someone help me out here?

Thanks!

1 Like

Interesting question! I would think one license for each video? But I’m interested to hear others responses.

If the videos are clearly connected as part of a single project, like a video series, then the music can be used up to 52 times per year (within 1 year of licensing the track) under a single license. This is still classified as a single-use, provided every video using the music belongs to one larger end product.

So if your customer was planning on making an intro that is used in different episodes of a single YouTube series, they will only need one Music Standard License per 52 videos. :slight_smile:

If they want to use the music in several individual, separate videos, then they will need to purchase a license for each video.

4 Likes

Thanks for the info AA. Very helpful. Is this stuff included on some kind of AJ user guide?

Yep - it’s all covered in the license guide. The details of what a “single application” means is outlined here:

2 Likes

Thanks! I’ll read up

Thanks AurusAudio!
That makes sense, but if every “show” includes several videos then I guess he would need one license for each “show”. He was talking about three different.