GoDaddy installation of a themeforest purchase

I’m brand new to WordPress and am setting up my very first site with it. However I’m lacking serious instruction on what to do now that I bought a theme and downloaded it.

The hosting is with GoDaddy. I have installed [through their so-called Cpanel] WordPress software on to the site and I’ve been given a green light the installation was complete. I am on a Mac and have unzipped the themeforest download but am unsure if I just upload the contents inside the unzipped folder.

Also, do I have to do anything like create a database???

My sincere apologies for such novice questions. But any links to a guide or suggestions where to turn next is GREATLY appreciated.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read this, Mel

You would install it like any other theme. Upload the theme folder into the “wp-content > themes” folder.

Your theme should have come with a read me, read that…

From my experience, here is what you have to do:

Once you have installed wordpress on to your current hosting, go to installed applications and you will have to follow the instructions to complete the wordpress setup process.

Then you will have to upload the theme into the relevant folder (just as the above poster has mentioned).

You will then have to log in i.e go to the domain or folder extension or subdomain you installed wordpress on and login with your details that you used for the installation. Go to appearance, add theme ( i think) and select the theme you uploaded and install…

Then you should be good to go.

:slight_smile:

Thanks for your reply but as a beginner to this I’ve never worked first with WordPress —or— uploaded, installed, and worked with a theme so I wouldn’t have known where a theme goes to begin with.

As for a help file in the download, I’ve spent six hours trying to find it or an FAQ on Envato’s site…in a desperate attempt for help, I thought I come here to the forum.