Author + Affiliate

Hello,

if I am an author but at the same time I have a site that I plan to make an affiliate is it a problem to have one account for both? I.e. sometimes a purchase may be possible of my own item trough the affiliate site?

Second question - while this is another site (but an affiliate) does that break the “exclusivity” option, or not? (Actually the market place is envato, not a competitor).

Being an author and an affiliate is fine. It’s actively encourage, in fact. No problem using just one account for that, and it doesn’t break the exclusivity rule. The only two main rules are that you can’t sell the item elsewhere… but referring people to your item to buy on Envato is fine. And you can’t buy your own item… using an affiliate link or not.

One more question - I’ve seen some authors embed audiojungle sound into their preview videos (not sure if so in the original version but may be not) where part of them mention the video in the audiojungle.net site, some don’t mention it at all. The sound is with “audiojungle” watermark, so it’s just to make it more attarctive.

Is this allowed?

Hi @VideoCatcher,
Happy to help explain this to you (although @SpaceStockFootage has done a sterling job thus far).
Do you mind sending me over an example of authors/affiliates embedding AJ items in their preview videos. I can’t see any real problem with this but would be good to review a few examples and check with our legal teams here.

Thanks,
Emile

Hi,

here is an example:

Cases vary:

1. a link to the audio and an explanation that it’s not included
  2. just a link to the audio w/o an explanation (I guess it is also not included)
  3. no notes at all (and I guess it is not included in that case too)
    (haven’t bookmarked of type 2. and 3.)

Regarding the affiliate program, I’ve read the tech explanation of tracking and it seems that it is a little disappointing:

• only new customer
  • only first purchase