Purchase code on installation

Hello,

I have built an installer for my script which allows users installing the script easily. I want to know if it is allowed to ask the purchase code when user tries to install the script. I have not encrypted any code, I will just ask for a purchase code and check it through Envato API. If the purchase code is valid, the installation process will be continued, otherwise not.

I have seen many recently approved scripts in Codecanyon doing it the same way (you cannot install them without a valid purchase code). But as I am a new author and struggling to approve my first item, I want to be 100% sure it is allowed.

Another thing, if it is allowed, how will reviewer install the script while testing it in the review process? I can disable the code verification temporarily during the review time. The reviewer will just need to enter any random (but valid in format) purchase code to install the script. If I mention this in the message when I submit the script, will it be enough? I am asking this because my previous experience says reviewers do not read messages.

Thanks.

Few days ago, I found a script that is being shared freely in a website. I informed the author via email and they replied “thanks but no one can install the script without a purchase code”. If it’s not allowed, how did they do that? (I am not sharing the item name because I am not sure if it’s allowed)

I know, no one can fully protect the scripts from pirate, but this system will protect the script at least from those who don’t know coding well.

Yes, you can require a purchase code to use your installer. The item itself must work without a purchase code (i.e. if they install manually). Personally, I allow the user to skip that step and show them a list of all the cool updates they could be getting instead. :wink: