Calling a function on maintimeline from class (AS3)

How do i go about calling a function in frame 1 of my timeline from a class file?

my function TEST on frame one of main timeline is just using a trace.

This is my error:

1061: Call to a possibly undefined method TEST through a reference with static type flash.displayisplayObject.

Stop putting AS3 code on your timeline. It’s not a good AS3 coding practice. Use external AS files. Use linkage option in your movie clips.

im just getting into as3 and have majority of my code already placed on timeline so for times sake this isnt feasible…

do you know a quick work round or just ability to tell me my coding practices are wrong.

import class;

var cls:class = new class();

cls.function;

senshi

From which file are you trying to access that function?

Did you put the function on your main timeline or on a timeline of a movie clip?

It’s really hard to tell something without seeing your code and project structure.

cast it as a movieclip for example if your class is added to the main stage do this:

MovieClip(parent).test();

ok guys heres my code:

Frame 1 on .fla:

function test()
{
trace(“it worked!”);
}

Class function:

public function executeTest() : void {
test();
}

senshi

From which file are you trying to access that function?

Did you put the function on your main timeline or on a timeline of a movie clip?

It’s really hard to tell something without seeing your code and project structure.

Im accessing the function from my class file. The function is on my maintimeline…when i ‘trace(root)’ it returns MainTimeline so i thought root.test(); may work but no luck?

Did you try what michelsteege said?

Depending on where your movie clip is located. Try;

MovieClip(parent).test();
or MovieClip(parent.parent).test();
even MovieClip(parent.parent.parent).test();

:slight_smile: I don’t really know where your class is located.

MovieClip(parent).test(); didnt work.