Build a Social App With React Native

I only just purchased this tutorial today and I’m disappointed. It seems that it might already be outdated. :frowning: I could be wrong, but it appears that this may be the case.

I am attempting to create an app that has a social element to it, so thought that this would be a great help to me since I am new to react native, then I realised that some things are greyed out in my editor.

Just wondering if anyone else had similar issues, or if there’s a workaround for it.

Hi @GeriSul,

Sorry to hear you’re having problems with this course. React Native is a pretty fast-moving platform, so some aspects might have changed since the course was produced. What in particular are you having trouble with?

Several things appear to be outdated, so it’s impossible to use the tutorial to create a working app. I was working on the Navigator part of the tutorial. I gave up on it after realising nothing was working from the RootNavigator

I got errors on the Left and Right buttons here where “LeftButton:” and “RightButton:” are greyed out.

const NavigationBarRouteMapper = {
  LeftButton: function (route, navigator, index, navState) {
    return route.leftButton ? (
      <route.leftButton
        style={styles.buttonStyle}
        navigator={navigator}
        route={route}
      />
    ) : null;
  },
  Title: function (route, navigator, index, navState) {
    return route.title ? (
      <Text
        style={[styles.titleStyle, SharedStyles.navBarTitleText]}
        numberOfLines={1}
      >{route.title}</Text>
  },
  RightButton: function (route, navigator, index, navState) {
    return route.rightButton ? (
      <route.rightButton
        style={styles.buttonStyle}
        navigator={navigator}
        route={route}
      />
  }
};

The imports have changed as well, but I figured this part out myself :

export default class RootNavigator extends React.Component {