Behance vs. Dribbble: How I increased traffic to my profile by 400%

Originally published at: https://community.envato.com/behance-vs-dribbble-how-i-increased-traffic-to-my-profile-by-400/

Andrea Montini (nuccioclark) is an Italian digital product designer who creates custom interfaces and interactions for mobile and web applications.

As a freelance designer I have always based my work 100% on providing services to professionals, companies or startups. Yet, I had never considered working on a singular product to sell online, until the opportunity presented itself to work on a UI kit for mobile applications to sell on ThemeForest.

Having now become an author on Envato Market, I wanted to share some interesting insights about this experience and show you what can be achieved by using some simple tips and tools available to everyone for free.

Working on my first product took more time than expected to complete. Over the summer I worked around my normal workload, and the amount of time it ended up taking exceeded my expectations. In the end it took more than four months to complete the kit and make it suitable for ThemeForest.

I didn’t want all that time and effort to go to waste. So, from the moment the item went live, I worked hard to exploit every possible social channel at my disposal to drive traffic to the page, for free.

Behance2

Behance

Behance is a really popular place to showcase your portfolio. I spent two weeks on my Behance profile which became a full project presentation. It worked pretty well at the beginning, a free and effective way of advertising my product. However, it didn’t prove to be the best source of traffic.

Dribbble

Dribbble