Why do +80% of all Photoshop Action halt, break or give errors once you work in 300 dpi, or in CMYK ?

Hi,
my question is quite honest, and my goal is NOT to start any polemics,
I’m an old school graphic designer.
I’m completely aware that we live in a very paced digital world…
However, for me quality matters! I still work very large formats, print ready,
Most of ALL actions halt once you work in CMYK or @ + 300 dpi…
Photoshop is a professional tool, mainly (@ least at the beginning…) designed for professional print compatible design, as well as Illustrator aso…
I would be quite happy to get your opinion on this…
I’m aware that everything is business driven, however I would pay a lot more for Actions print compatible…
Regards

This is some of my experience, I do not know what actions you are using but action who use Filter Gallery and some Adjustments options eg. Black&White, Exposure, Vibrance dont work correctly because photoshop does not support these options in CMYK mode. This is only basic problem there are still some differences, it is difficult to make some effect without using Filter Gallery option but you can always switch to a finished image in CMYK mode.

More effects, higher resolutions means you need higher specs computer. Maybe i am wrong, but from my own experience, this is what i encounter with actions. The simpler the action is, the less thinking power it needs. 8 gig or more and having a quadcore helps a lot when playing complex high resolution 300 dpi effects. Most actions do work for a lot of people from the reviews i have read on there item pages, so i think some people need to upgrade or invest better processor and ram if they want the best results.

1 Like

I’ve had some top selling actions do the same and I’m a quad core with 32 Gigatrons.

2 Likes