What are the most commercially viable genres?

Hello all,

I was wondering if I could trouble any more experienced authors out there to guide me on which genres and styles are, in your opinion, more commercially viable.

I’m a newb on AJ, and I’m having a lot of fun trying to compose in different styles and seeing what sticks. So far, I’ve uploaded rock, folk, funk, classical, electronica etc. Here is my portfolio:

Not having been here long, and having a small catalogue, it’s difficult to decide where I should be focusing my energy to make the most commercially viable tracks.

My initial impressions are that it’s probably not worth entering the motivational or corporate market because there are so many tunes on here that I’m unlikely to stand out. Perhaps classical guitar and funk might be two genres in which there’s not so much material, and I should concentrate on that. I like writing folky stuff but I’m not sure melancholy folk sells like hot cakes. :slight_smile:

Obviously I also need to think about playing to my strengths, and with so many talented and experienced authors on here, it’s hard to stand out.

If anyone has any conclusions they’ve arrived at through experience, i.e. produce the most popular styles, pick niche genres with less competition, stick to one thing etc, I’d be very grateful to hear about it.

Many thanks in advance.

1 Like

If you’re trying to steer away from the corporate catergory, catchy rock music is always sellable. I’m going to make more myself after my track “Energizing Rock” sold 7 times in the first week (one of which was an upgraded license).

That being said, I try to be very versatile in my genres. If you check my portfolio, you’ll see I have some cinematic tracks, some pop/rock tracks, corporate tracks, electronic tracks, and even a few sound effects. I do this because in the future, when I make more of a name for myself, I want my clients to know I can make any kind of music they need, so they keep coming back to me.