Want to learn how to Develop Wordpress Themes. Your suggestions?

Hi,

I am looking, but having trouble finding, the best Courses / Tutorials for learning how to develop Wordpress themes.

I know HTML and CSS, but I am lost when it comes to developing Wordpress sites.
I would also love to learn PHP (I am a complete beginner).

If any of you have suggestions as to what courses or tutorials I should take and concentrate on for learning Wordpress, PHP and even WooCommerce.
I would greatly appreciate any help you can throw my way.

I love to learn new languages and I am very intrigued by Wordpress and PHP.
I do know Wordpress, but I do not know how to develop Wordpress themes, they coding (loops and other things for calling blog posts titles etc etc etc) really confuse me!

Thank you and I appreciate anything you can provide me with so I can learn to develop my first Wordpress theme!

• Jon

Hello Jon,

Before starting WordPress Theme Development, you need to learn PHP basics. After you learn the PHP basics, you can start learning WordPress Theme Development.

For WordPress Theme Dev. I did this course https://themeforest.net/item/building-wordpress-themes-with-bootstrap/14806107?s_rank=2

For PHP basics course, I did it from Udemy.

Also, I did a mistake as a starter and started building huge complex themes. Best way to start is by building personal blog themes.

Good Luck.

Hi,

You need the learn how to coding: PHP sure but same importance have HTML + JS + CSS.
The simplest way to start is with WPTF that have all ready: http://wordpress.framework-y.com/wptf/

But you will need anyway to learn the coding.

Thanks

There are some great resources on Envato Tuts+ for learning web development in general as well as coding for WordPress. (Disclaimer: I’m an editor for Tuts+ so I had a hand in creating many of these courses.)

This is paid content, but you can access it all with a low-cost monthly subscription.

Here’s a really basic starter on PHP: