Using Audiojungle tracks for research purposes

Hi there,

My name is Ryan Gibson. I am a postgraduate researcher at the University of Huddersfield, in the UK.

I’m currently looking for royalty-free music that I can use in my research project. I cannot see anything in the FAQ that explicitly covers this.

In brief, the study will involve a number of singers being recorded singing in a variety of different ways/styles over a number of different backing tracks. This will involve the production of some lyrics that cover various features of regional pronunciation (it is a study of the effect of linguistic accent in music), and the lyrics will more than likely be designed by myself. This won’t be a full song - in all likelihood just a verse/chorus. I’m aiming for 20 second tracks, ideally.

The problem I see is where the FAQ says:

"Can I use an AJ track in a stand-alone music track? What about sound effects?
You may not use music in stand-alone music tracks, but you could use sound effects in a music track.

Example: You can’t add lyrics to an audio track and sell it on iTunes"

I think the key here is what ‘stand-alone music track’ means here, and what is implied by the example.

The tracks will only be available for those associated with the research - my direct supervisor, along with a number of participants (the singers and a number of participants who will be listening and providing feedback). It’s not practical to produce this live, so recordings will have to be made.

I’m not creating a commercial product, and certainly will not be selling anything on iTunes or any other venue. The tracks will exist purely in a research context.

Would this be allowed? Let me know if you need anything clarifying to help you answer the question.

Take care.

Ryan.

2 Likes

I think in this case, not the tracks are the end product, but the research itself, so you can safely use tracks from AJ. Especially if you are not going to sell or distribute them.

Hello Ryan,