The emerging market of video in Photoshop

Originally published at: https://community.envato.com/the-emerging-market-of-video-in-photoshop/

Recently Envato Market Author, Scarab13 decided to explore the world of video in Photoshop, after years of not thinking much about it. And, what he thinks he’s found is a new growth market.

It was a dark, rainy night. Flashes of lightning lit up the sky in a style reminiscent of Sin City, briefly removing the shadows from my worried face. As I sat bent over my Macbook Pro, my mind was frozen yet my body was in a hot sweat as the situation came to a head. It had been weeks since I’d uploaded anything to my GraphicRiver portfolio which, being an Envato Elite Author, I felt obliged to do regularly. But I had no inspiration. No new ideas. Total emptiness.

After changing the music in the background a few times I realized I had nothing new to offer this rainy evening. A depressing thought indeed. During my time on GraphicRiver I’d seen party posters, flyers and many other categories of graphic template die. Left behind by a market whose appetite had changed.

Completely blocked as to what I could create that would be relevant, I closed Photoshop, went on Facebook and got a quick laugh from a random GIF of a cat failing to make the jump again and again. Then it hit me…

Video in Photoshop

[caption id="" align="alignnone" width="600"] Classic Cinemagraph PS Template (for all versions) by Scarab13[/caption]

I’d been familiar with Photoshop’s ability to do video since CS3 in 2007.

I remember fascinating my bosses at the agency I was working at by pasting videos on a nicely designed stage - in the program - and warping them, adding glare and effects, then exporting them as .mov files. But, then I kinda stopped thinking about it, since I usually did my videos in Premier Pro, After Effects and (on the rare occasion) Final Cut Pro. And so, the feature got a bit forgotten.