The dark cloud over Graphicriver's head

Hi everyone,

About a month and a half ago, I was an exclusive author on GR and my earnings were not that great. So I decided to change the exclusive agreement to a non-exclusive agreement to sell on other market places. I now make more money than ever because where GR offers 36% of my sales as a non-exclusive author, others gladly give 70%, it makes a whole difference!
I then realized that before in my category, which is “brochure”, most recent items had 1 sale whereas now there are about 3 sales per page. The drop is important. I think GR is greedy and takes a too much big chunk off of our sales. It doesn’t seem coherent anymore these days on the market. 50% as an exclusive author where others are at 70% non-exclusive! How long GR will keep it up before to line up with the others? I think this is an important question that GR has to think about.

It reminds me the story of Quarkxpress which was the leader software in Editorial Design. And as a leader they had the power on the market but didn’t bring anything new or different. Until InDesign came along. Quarkxpress didn’t feel threaten but in a very short period of time thanks to an aggressive pricing strategy and a way better offer, Indesign got the attention of the industry and many made the switch swearing never to go back. Quarkxpress, because of their stubbornness, blindness and perhaps pride, lost the war. They kept their price ridiculously high regardless of the rising competitor and didn’t innovate thinking that they got it all sorted out. They only made their customers very disappointed and most felt let down. We all know today which one is the leader now.