Stolen website with illegal use of my purchased theme and plugin

Hello,
I am a web designer, a deadbeat client refused to pay for his website.
He demanded I remove the website from his hosting which I did.
Somehow with the help of hosting the deleted website has returned and now I’m locked out.
He now has possession of a website he has not paid for.
This website is using Avada theme and Web 2.0 Directory plugin which I have the purchase codes for and does not belong to them until they have paid for them. Because this client has stolen this website, I payed for and own these licenses that are being used illegally.
What are my options?
I do not see a place to revoke licenses.

Thank you for your help.
Kenny

Hey there Kenny! That sounds like a nasty situation! What I do suggest is determining the hosting company who is hosting his site using WhoIS and sending them a DMCA. Hosts are required to act on DMCA’s, and will most definitely terminate his website. That’s the best and simplest legal approach to this.

Cheers
Enabled

1 Like

Good advice.
Thank you.

Are you allowed to send a DMCA when you’re not the author/do not own the copyrights? Wouldn’t the author have to be involved as well?

You own a license to a product, you’re sending a DMCA based on the license of that product, as most themes require an activation using a purchase code, you’re activating a “license” that doesn’t belong to you, of which you have proof of ownership.

You’re claming the license of the product is yours, not the product, you’re sending a DMCA for that specific license, and that can be removed/terminated.

The author can get involved for the actual product! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Didn’t know you could make such distinctions with DMCAs. Good to know! Thanks for clarifying :slight_smile: