Should I record at 60 fps or 30 fps

This is surely a noob question but should I take my recordings at 30 fps or 60 fps? I mean can one purchase a 60 fps video and render it as 30 and be totally cool with it?

The reason I ask is majority of authors have their videos at 30 or 29.5 fps.

Please help. Thank you

hi there.

In terms of videography, this is quite a pertinent question.

If there is no justification for you to use 60fps, do not use it - it will only degrade your footage. If your end output is to slow down the video (using, say Twixtor’ in post), then you may use it, but it may introduce artifacts - again, degrading your footage.

The reason why i say do not use 60fps if it cannot be justified, is that, as a newbie, i suspect the limitations of your equipment might mean you are not going to be able to shoot Full HD<s/trong> at 60fps . You may be ‘scaling up’ a 60fps footage at 640x360 res or something) - not good. And therefore, any video you shoot at high frame rate will be seriously degraded and not up to native Full HD quality.

There are plenty of cheap cameras out there that can shoot 60fps or even 120fps (at 420x360 res) … believe me just because your camera can shoot 60fps, doesn’t mean you should. Believe me, i’ve toyed about with Magic Lantern on my 5D III trying to get 60fps at Full HD… you need to be spending at least $7,500 for this.

So ask yourself. What am i shooting? If you are shooting a close-up of a Humming Bird fluttering it’s wings, or an action shot of a skateboarder jumping, this might be good to use 60fps (with the idea of slowing it down to look dramatic). - but just be wary of your final output.

Good luck,

hi there.

In terms of videography, this is quite a pertinent question.