Removing Repeated 'Beep' Sound

Hey all, has anybody ever used Waves Restoration plugins (or other plugins) to remove a repeated noise from a WAV file?

I’m not trying to get around paying for demo software or anything :). One of my colleagues at my day job recorded a web cast with licensed software (not sure what) but apparently used some “practice” setting that recorded an annoying beep every 30 seconds. So I was going to see if I could do something with the WAV to remove the beeps without messing up the rest of the audio too much. I’ve never done this before and was curious if anyone else out there had.

Hi,

never removed a repeating noise from a wav with Restoration plugins but Izotope RX4 should do the job, when your restauration plugins wont do it… or ban the “beep” with a nice decent X crossfade… :wink:

regards

Sebastian

This should be possible without interfering with the rest of the audio too much. The first thing I would do is to find the exact frequency of the beep ( I’m assuming it’s a simple sine wave beep) and then EQ just that frequency out. This shouldn’t affect the audio too much as it is only attenuating a narrow frequency band. The other option is to use a noise removal plugin in an audio editing program such as Audacity. You simply select a part of the audio where the beep is playing ( preferably on its own) and then the plugin will attempt to filter out any audio that matches that wave pattern or frequency. You can then dial in how much of the audio you want to take out (ie the strength of the attenuation) but beware of side effects such as accidentally removing other parts of your song using similar frequencies. I’ve had varying success with this method but hopefully it will do the trick for you.

Anyway that’s my advice. Hope it helps :smiley:

If this is simple sine wave, Sound Forge should do the work. It’s cheaper than RX but also you could do it using demo version I think :slight_smile:

Eunoia is right: RX4 is free for a 10-day trail…