Presets or not?

Hi everyone

As I am fairly new to producing / mixing / mastering, I’m struggling to take it all in, so therefore, I’m using presets for EQ / Compression etc etc, is this a good idea? Does it make a difference from learning how to mix / master properly, ie doing things manually? Also are DAWS stock presets useful, or would you always choose a 3rd party preset (I use Cubase 7.5) and mostly use NI KU10

A lot of people use the presets as a starting point. The hard part is if you don’t tweak them a little bit they might not sit right in the mix. I’d say the stock presets can be useful but it’s all about how creative you are with them.

1 Like

I’m a big fan of presets as long as you know how to tweak them if you need to. For any bands I’ve been in I’ve been a bit more hands on but presets let you get that balance between speed and quality when you’re writing vast amounts of RF tracks.

1 Like

Presets for things like EQ and Compression can offer useful starting points, but with some of them you have to make sure you adjust for level (e.g. the threshold setting for compression) otherwise they won’t work as they should.

If you are using an all-in-one mastering package like Izotope Ozone I think the presets can be really quite misleading as the whole point of mastering is to adjust everything to suit the specific track and it’s unlikely that any given preset will be right. I got quite confused about this when first using Izotope!

In terms of getting a better understanding of the mixing/mastering process I found this website a really valuable resource:

http://productionadvice.co.uk/about/

1 Like

That’s good advice on the mastering presets. I use Maximus and the presets for the most part just push the music balls to the walls, not in a good way. It always sounds better to do it from scratch for each track.

1 Like

As SmartOwlMusic said presets are good starting point and usually you should tweak them to get the sound you want.