Metal Track - Rejected (this is my turn :) ) - feedback welcome to improve :)

Hello there,
recently, I have been giving my feedback on rejections… even though I am a newbie on audiojungle.
Today is my turn…

I submitted a “hard/rock , metal” track, that I thought could be nice to illustrate sports/car videos.
I have listened to tracks in this genre, and being a guitarist, I gave it a go.

I would be curious to know if you think the composition is to blame, or if the mix/mastering is not up to the competition.

Many thanks ! :slight_smile:

Oh, the link:

1 Like

Hey Frozen,
There are two areas where you could improve this track.

First is the guitar parts execution. For metal you need really precise playing. Maybe yours isn’t tight enough?

The second area is the amp/distortion. This sounds a lot like plug-ins to me… I’d try adding a hardware distortion pedal before the amp sim for a more realistic metal tone.

1 Like

Thanks for your feedback. Yes, I noticed that compared to other “pro” tracks… my double tracking is not very precise… I was wondering if some others were using… guitar VSTs (some of them sound really good when used for palm muting).

Yep I am using Kuassa here, but I was not convinced 100% by my tone… so on both issues, I totally agree, which is a good start :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hey there,

I absolutely agree with @soundset’s points - you are going in the right direction with this track but the guitar timing is a little sloppy and the sound could be improved as well. Maybe play around with compression on the guitars, too. Put them both on a bus and compress the sum to tighten them up (that is, once the timing is there of course).