How the winners of the SevenStyles competition created their entries

Originally published at: https://community.envato.com/creatives-share-created-winning-design-entries/

Recently we challenged our community to make the most amazing things they could using Photoshop plugin, “Flex” by GraphicRiver’s SevenStyles. Now, we’ve asked the Authors of some of our winning entries how they came up with their creations.

Nippur (Argentina) - Grand Prize Winner

"Actions are not my strongest skill..."
nippur

My name is Matias Sesti (aka Nippur), and I’m a freelance motion designer from Buenos Aires. I became an Envato Author about 4 years ago because it gave me the possibility to make some profit from the different experiments I did while learning different styles of animation.

Actions are not my strongest skill so I thought it could be a good way to test them. I ended-up submitting 14 entries! It was a kind of compulsion!

How I made my winning entry

While I was watching FLEX running a few times, it reminded me of the textures and movements of this title sequence:

So I wondered if applying the action to a frame sequence could have a similar result.

My first try was on “the walking loop”:

Walking Loop by Nippur

I had many issues as the frame was just 1000x1000 and the result was not very interesting as the walking figure has no detail or gradients. I also realized that the bright edges generated the blue geometrical shapes.

I chose an old version of a logo sting I had previously made with the shatter effect as it had many pieces with contrast and it was quite short. The shatter effect has an alpha channel (I didn´t use a background image) so I rendered a Photoshop Document (PSD) sequence with an alpha channel:

Flex process by Nippur