HEDD monitors

I’ve been using budget monitors(prodipe ribbon8) for the last ten years and I’m thinking of finally upgrading. I’m hoping new monitors that are higher quality will help with mix translation. I found a good deal on HEDD type 20 mk1. Does anyone here use or have any experience with HEDD?

Good monitors. AMT twitter is another question - i am not like such type of HF drivers, because of hyped highs. But you can correct it in monitors or via Linearizer. Also HEDD more linear than Adam. So good choise.

2 Likes

Do you think it’s worth getting the mk2? I think they are dsp so that means another level of ad/da conversion which I’m not too keen on. Another monitor I’m considering is Neumann kh310, i have heard they are super accurate but can be a bit boring to listen to. Apparently this was the main monitor hedd was competing with when they developed the type 20.

Hello, in the same style with a ribbon tweeter, there is the ADAM AUDIO brand which is in berlin. There is also a manufacturer at home in France, for a lower budget, it is the FOCAL brand.

2 Likes

Thanks, I love the look of the focals, though I don’t see how they are lower budget.
Ideally, the best thing would be to try all the different monitors in your own room to see which works best in that particular space but that’s not really feasible for me.

Indeed, for the 3 voices they are the same price. Too expensive for me lol. I will continue for a long time with my little yamaha msp 5. :smiling_face_with_tear:

2 Likes

Neumann is way better. More classic approach and if i remember it s 3 way and bigger LF driver.

1 Like

Funny that you say that as I have heard someone say the hedd is way better. I think when you get to that level of monitor, they are probably both great and it just comes down to personal preference.

So why you asked about opinion? Just to say “funny”?

Maybe funny was the wrong word to use. I really appreciate and respect your opinion. Sorry if that came across wrong.

1 Like