Give me your 2 cents on this rejected track

Would love any thoughts on this rejected track.

Thanks!

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rupsw17mxxd0ehh/AJ%20upbeat%20WATERMARK.mp3

1 Like

Hi genepensiero,
I think that the main problem is that the mix is not clear enough and you’re musical ideas do not come through in a way a listener can enjoy them.
There is also too much reverb IMHO, especially on the kick.
My suggestion:

1. Listen to the track without reverb and then add reverb gradually to the separate channels till you hear it’s beautiful enough.
  2. Make the arrangement sparser, you don’t need many instruments playing together all the time.
  3. Don’t use the kick all the time, it can stop for a bar, or a few beats, or even a section.
1 Like

Thanks so very much, Alon. Those are great insights. I appreciate your help and kindness.

2 Likes

I’m far from an expert! But I’d say the kick is to overwhelming throughout the whole track. Pull it in a little and like Alon said, maybe skip a few beats. Also, the hand clap was a bit much, especially in the beginning. It was a bit abrasive.

1 Like

Thanks Enchanted. I appreciate it!

1 Like

Hi, I agree with what the other folks are saying. As an ex-reviewer here, I can tell you, this would be rejected within 10-20 secs of listening, and I’m going to try to explain the thought process of a reviewer, and why I think they would come to that conclusion fairly rapidly (I hope you won’t feel criticized, and know that I’m just trying to be honest, to help you move forward to providing content that will pass review):

A few seconds in, it soon becomes obvious that the kick and claps sound very repetitive and dominating (and kicks generally lose punch and sound flabby with reverb). The arrangement is too busy, and repetitive, and doesn’t need the marimba type sound, and lacks an identifiable melody or theme.

The instruments used don’t come across as being very modern or high quality, and the mix doesn’t sound balanced.