GDPR in Themeforest and in templates that we sell

Hi everyone! I am an EU author and as everyone knows on 25th of May 2018 GDPR will take effect on all EU and Non-EU companies. My question is - what Envato as a EU company and all authors should do to be compliant with the new regulation? What Joomla, Wordpress, Drupal, HTML and other template makers are going to do with their demo websites? I will be happy if you share your opinion. Take care and good luck :slight_smile:

2 Likes

As an end user I too would like to know the answer to this. It seems any product sold and used in the EU will need to provide facility for GDPR compliance.

From link below:

Whether you’re developing a theme or a plugin for a specific client project or for wider distribution, the regulations will apply if your code includes the facility to collect personal data.

https://premium.wpmudev.org/blog/gdpr-how-it-affects-wordpress-site-owners-and-developers/

1 Like

Envato is not an EU company :slight_smile:

Probably mean’t as ‘a company selling into the EU’.

There are a lot of non EU companies taking GDPR serioulsy as it will have an effect on sales - i.e an EU customer will prefer to buy other products offering compliance with their regional law

2 Likes

So, does anybody or Envato has a valid statement to this?

Do we have to take care of anything, when we sell on Envato as an EU company or to EU customers?

Do I have to sign a special contract with the buyers? So far, I know I don’t, because the buyers are not my customers, they are Envato ones, and all the personal data are located at Envato servers. But I would like to have official statement about it.
All I do is to linke to my profile’s and product pages in the CodeCanyon store.

Would love if someone can help.

Best regards.

1 Like

We as authors are not necessary to make products that comply with GDPR, it is your responsibility as the owner of the project were you implement it.