Email templates - compatibility requirements

I’ve been an active and frequent Envato customer for a few years now. I am also a web designer and WordPress developer, But my main professional sector is Email Marketing. I am working with big European brands designing and developing consumer Email campaigns.

Since I also do a little Email Marketing for Musicians in my spare time, I’m always on the lookout for interesting new Email templates that I can adopt for some of their campaigns. But I am continuously shocked and hugely disappointed by the vanity and misleading presentation of almost ALL of the email template designers/developers here at Envato.

There seems to be a lack of understanding of what distinguishes html for email from browser based design and build. And in order to make a sale, almost all of the templates here - presented exclusively in browser view - will end up being incompatible with a large number of receiving email clients, making the templates in use look untidy at best, broken at worst.

I am surprised that Envato does not force email designers/developers to disclose their Litmus or Email On Acid rendering reports to show what their built designs will look like in all the different email clients.

• non-websafe fonts only work on newer Apple devices - no Windows machine will show the fancy typefaces
  • background images are not supported by Outlook - a very popular email client
  • anything above 650px width will still result in horizontal scroll bars in some desktop clients