Doubts about how to create a web with Enforld and child-theme

Hello everyone,

First of all I must say that I am completely new at website building… but I would like to create a personal site with a blog and I have thought in Wordpress with the Enfold theme. I like this theme and the possibilities it offer to customize the appearance of the site using the Avia layout builder… due that I am a completely newbie about websites. But here is where my doubts begin…

Looking for information about how to set up Wordpress and a theme, I have read in several places that the correct way to do it is creating a child-theme for the Enfold theme. The child theme must be active and all the changes must been made on it to override the parent theme and to avoid all modifications be lost when the parent theme be updated. I think up here all clear.

But what I don’t know is how to procced to start making the changes in the child theme. I mean, all changes must been made by hand or the Avia layout builder from Enfold would still be available once the child-theme has been activated? I saw several videos about how to setup a child theme and in all of them make the subsequent changes by hand. I couln’t find any video explaining how to build a website from stat to fisnish with Enfold and a child-theme.