Do you prefer guitar plugins or guitar + amp modeller?

music

I just wondered which is the most popular nowadays…
and that goes for bass guitar too.

plugin guitar and keyboard or mouse… or
real guitar and modeller… or even real amp?

I don’t mind using sample libraries for bass, but I absolutely hate sample libraries for guitars

Hi. Definitely modeler or real amps :slight_smile:

Vox AC15 + Hagstrom +line6 delay) :slight_smile:

But for corporate music sometimes better to use plugins or library)

I prefer real bass, electric and acoustic guitars + amp modeler. But that’s ok to use sample libraries if you can make it real. Technology goes forward.

It’s because you are a guitarist!) Do you imagine how many drummers hate drums libraries?)

If you want to create corporate tracks: guitar vst is ok. But if you want distorted sound for rock track it’s better to record live guitar.

I don’t agree! :slight_smile: I’m a pianist and a bassist and I love sample libraries for those instruments. I know violinists and cellists who love sample libraries for those instruments. Guitar sample libraries are only suitable for an extremely narrow range of parts, and they really stand out as fake when people use them.

I prefer real bass and guitars whenever possible. I use VST amps but i will purchase a hardware modeling unit in the future, i believe they sound more credible…especially for hi-gain.

I remember being impressed with some NI sampled bass guitars by the way.

Perhaps, sampled guitars could do only if you hide them behind a ton of stuff (e.g. you need a big chord together with perc and orchestra in a cinematic trailer)… :slight_smile:

Yes… I use VST amps. This Positive Grid BIAS!!!

interesting
I have a guitar
but there is no amplifier
Is it possible a good record on the line?
with program preamps ?

DigiTech RP 255

Software… by far!

I mean i love real amps, but how practical are they really when it comes to recording? Mics, pre-amps, etc…