Disable an effect with expressions?

Hey i’m an expressions noob and I was wondering; is there a way to completely shut off an effect through expressions? (specifically check-box) And also be able to re-enable the given effect.

-Graham

Nevermind…stupid question; figured out how.

Mods can delete

Wich type of efftect, per example, “fill effect” : alt clic on opacity timewatch and type :

C = thisComp.layer(yourlayer).effect(yourcheckbox)“checkbox”;

If (c=true){
value=100
}else{
value=0
}

//// “c” is your condition, your chekbox here
If your checkbox is enabled the effect parameter value will be 100, if checkbox is disabled, your effect parameter value will be 0.
Replace these value by your effect value…
I hope I’m clear… :wink:

Thanks DarkPulse that was helpful. What i’m trying to do is have the ability to enable or disable a “Turbulent Displace” effect that is animated so that the displace amount starts at 100 and ends at 0 after 5 seconds, right now I have one of the two expressions to use each of them has problems:

(comp(“Comp 1”).layer(“Main Controls”).effect(“Turbulent Displace”)(“Checkbox”) * 150)-(time * 20);

(comp(“Comp 1”).layer(“Main Controls”).effect(“Turbulent Displace”)(“Checkbox”)*150)/(time+10);

The first one does not work because it continues to subtract thus going into negative numbers. The second expression does not work because it can never get to zero. How would I fix this so the expression would give a value of 0 at 5 seconds while also animating down from 100?

I’m not at home right now ( I’m on my iphone), so it’s not easy to understand your probleme. Simply try to duplicate your layer/comp and disable FX on one of them : put the layer with the displacement effect on top of the original. Apply my expression on the opacity layer value to get somerhing like that :

A : layer/comp with displacement FX
B : original layer/comp (without displacement)