Developing an android application for a client

Hey there,

I looked through the forums but couldn’t find a similar case to mine, only websites that people want to sell.

Friends and I are developing an application that we will pitch to a potential customer in the hotel industry. I am a java software developer but have no idea about frontend stuff, hence me being here looking for easy to use frontend templates. The application would be used by the client to advertise and rent out rooms/apartments and as a portal for customers to communicate with the client. The customers of the client would not pay to use the app, but they would get advanced access to their customer portal once they rent a room.

In the best-case scenario we would develop the app, get paid by the customer while doing so, incorporate their data into the app and practically run the app on our own while the client uses our app.

Another scenario would be developing the app and selling the end-product to the client. In this case the regular licence should be sufficient, right? But what about the case above, where we would not be selling a finished product to a client but they would pay us for continuous development and for support? They would be the client, which would be paying to “use” the app but not the end-user which would not be paying to actually use the app. I’m confused.

I know I should just learn JavaScript and not worry about any of this but I really don’t like JavaScript or Angular…

Also if there are recommendations on which pack to buy (I was looking at ‘Universal’, which says it has everything), I’d be happy to hear about them. Also, are those JavaScript things or programmed with a different language? I couldn’t really figure that out.