Could use some feedback before I submit

Hey Creatives,
I have had several rejections over the past few weeks. I’m new to AJ and really want to get better at composing for stock music.

With that said I could really use some feedback on a track that I’m currently finishing up.

Thanks in advance.

hello ssdkmusic, :slight_smile:

I listened to your track and I am afraid it might get rejected, due to the following reasons:

• The snap in the intro sounds a bit dry.
  • The chord stabs sound unEQ’d.
  • Kick needs work and percussion in general.
  • I am not sure if there’s bass, the track sounds too empty.
  • I can’t put my hand on a theme, it’s not really coherent.
  • The fx sound too harsh.
  • I would use sidechain compression on some of the elements (stabs and when you add your bassline)

I read again what you posted

I believe it’s still a work in progress? However, I would try to stick to a melodic structure (chord progression + bassline + a lead on top) and try to match up with some of the already accepted items on AJ.

Keep working and practicing. :wink:

@RedLeafMusic Thanks for the feedback. At first, it was tough to hear. But I’m here to learn so thanks for taking the time out to help. :+1:t5:

1 Like

Updated track.

@RedLeafMusic how about now.

I could also use any other feedback, I’m really trying to get it right.

Hey, listening now for a few times and I can see the effort and progress.
I still got some feedback:

• The cymbal sounds way too harsh along with the other FX (at 0:56)
  • The bass pops way too much and masks the kick.
  • The new clap sound at 1:03 sounds out of place and comes suddenly.
  • The kick and bass sound very weak due to the masking from other elements, there is still low and low mid frequencies from other elements in the mix.
  • The transition at 0:37 sounds too sudden, I would introduce a riser here or a reversed cymbal.