Coding skills

I’m coding ever since the table layout was around, so regarding css & html I would say that I have a decent experience.

Recently I applied for a job as a reviewer on Envato. I got a small test.

1. Evaluate a website from a design point of view
  2. Evaluate code

The message said that I have to do my best, and I don’t have to worry if I don’t answer correct.

Anyway, I know I’m not a graphic designer, that’s why I applied for WordPress reviewer (I know that the reviewer is reviewing and the graphic design, I just thought that the design is evaluated by a graphic designer and the code by a web developer)

Let’s move on to the coding

So the html was pretty simple. I couldn’t copy & paste the html so that I can put it in w3c validator so that I automate the checking, so I took every single code of line and evaluated

I think I didn’t missed any not nested tag, I found lots of problems regarding css & javascript(inline css, unclosed tag, inline js, trying to access a css class that was defined as id on html etc.)

The Envato answer was that my skills are not good enough.

So my question is… what could I have miss so that they are saying that my skills are not good enough ?
I can’t think of anything that can affect a decision like this for a simple html.

What is doing a new reviewer in the first 3 weeks, if is an “expert html”?
I just got the impression I didn’t got a fair job review

I know Envato is very busy, so that’s why I opened this topic, to talk about what could I have done wrong ?

A WordPress reviewer needs to review everything from code to design. Not just code.

As I said I’m not talking about the design here. My question on this topic is what could I have not know regarding html ?

The more I think about it, the more I realise that they don’t even looked at my answers… they just told me that I’m not good enough go get rid of me…