Can I upload Font to my server? (logo templates)

Hi, I have question, can I upload font to my server? And provide that link in the HelpFile.txt for logo customer?

1 Like

It would depend on the fonts license and if you are (commercially) allowed to redistribute it

2 Likes

hi i do not see what is the interest for u to do just this, not to mention that people could tell u that this is a way to self promote or promote your website …

No, you are wrong, there will be no promotion, just direct download. The reason why I want to do this, is that you don’t need to go to third party website, which may wont work in future.

Regardless, this will entirely depend on the license even if it’s a free font (it won’t be an option with any premium fonts)

But with premium fonts you cant sell logo templates, am I wrong?

I’m not an expert in that, but I imagine it would depend on the individual source/license.

For example Typekit say you can use it for logos but that you can’t distribute the original font i.e. as a download from your website :wink: https://www.adobe.com/products/type/font-licensing/licensing-faq.html

Using logic -> I think you shouldn’t download (free for commercial use) font and then upload it on your servers and then provide this link in your help file.

Why? Simple - if some website is offering free font it’s obvious they have some agreement with the author and it’s possible that author can ask for remove his font or change the licence therms in the future (maybe yes, maybe no). So I think you should have agreement with the author if you want offer font on your server (which means agreements with many different authors and staying in touch with them… a little problematic I think :slight_smile: