Buyers Fees, Authors Fees and Tax Withholding.

In my endless quest for maximum efficiency, I thought I’d create a catch-all post that I can refer people to if they have any questions that can be covered with a general explanation of fees and taxes. So here it is!

One thing to keep in mind, I’m not employed by Envato, so this isn’t the official company info on this. And… I’m not a tax expert either, so although I’ve ensured the following info is accurate to the best of my knowledge… always best to check with a tax expert before making any decisions based on this post.

So… the total price of an item that the buyer pays (the list price) is made up of a few things. There’s the buyers fee, which is 20% of the list price. Although, if it’s an item on GraphicRiver, then the item price is a fixed amount depending on what category your item is in. The buyers fee (for GraphicRiver items) will be detailed on the upload page when you submit your item.

Once the buyers fee is deducted, you’re then left with the item price. That’s the amount shown on your statement and is the amount that authors fees and taxes are calculated on. So if you see an amount on your statement for a sale, that’s different to the list price of your item, you’ll know why. It’s showing the item price, rather than the list price.

Currently, the exclusive authors fee varies between 37.5% and 12.5%. The percentage reduces by 1.25% every time you sell $3,750 worth of items. That’s calculated on the list price, not the item price. So if you’ve sold less than $3,750 then the author fee you pay to Envato will be 37.5% of the item price. If you’ve sold $37,500 worth of stuff then the author fee will be 25% etc etc. If you’re a non-exclusive author then it;s a fixed percentage of 55% no matter how much you sell. You can see the rates schedule here…